Gina Dowding, newly elected Green Party MEP for North West England, says thank you.

28 June 2019

Here in our North West region we face many challenges both environmental and social; from a lack of safety for cyclists to air pollution that went unchecked due to falsification of figures; from the push for fracking and for gas storage in our salt mines to a complete lack of passion for renewables and poor public transport. Then there’s HS2 and Brexit.

Yes - lots to be done but there’s a huge impetus to do it.

I would like to express my sincere gratitude to the 216,581 North West residents who voted Green – a significant increase since the last European elections in 2014. They made clear that the environment matters as does social justice.

As I formally now start my role this week, I feel empowered in my work as an MEP because I know I am representing many, like the majority here in Macclesfield, who voted to Remain part of Europe. For those who voted Leave, I am working hard on the issues that caused discontent.

My key priority is to challenge the climate crisis which requires urgent attention. With more than 70 other MEPs in the Green Group in the European Parliament, I will work towards building momentum for a Green New Deal, which would help tackle the climate emergency with sensible and positive solutions.

We want to see massive job creation here in the North West in green industries, energy efficient homes, sustainable public transport – helping to achieve a better environment, a fairer economy and to stamp out inequality.

I’m honoured to have been elected as a representative for our corner of England and to work for our positive and progressive vision.

RSS Feed North West Green Party RSS Feed

Back to main page

Euro Election Candidates

The Green Party candidates for the North West region in the Euro Elections of 23 May were:

Gina Dowding. Lancashire County Councillor. Elected.
Wendy Olsen. Salford.
Jessica Northey. St Helens.
Geraldine Coggins. Trafford Borough Councillor.
Rosie Mills. Lancaster.
Astrid Johnson. Manchester.
Dan Jerrome. Trafford Borough Councillor.
James Booth. Macclesfield.

Click here for more details.