Greens slam North West MPs voting for Heathrow expansion

26 June 2018

North West Greens condemn the many Tory and Labour North West MPs who last night voted for the Heathrow third runway. 

We now know that several North West MPs - both Labour & Conservative - voted in favour of Heathrow expansion.

John Knight, on behalf of the North West Green Party, said: "Any lip-service these individuals and their parties pay to air-quality and the environment will now have to evaluated in the light of this vote.  It is
particularly shocking that MPs representing constituencies like Wythenshawe, Cheadle, Stockport and Tatton - already badly affected by airport noise and air-pollution - voted to inflict more of the same on the residents of West London and the Thames Valley."

Brian Candeland, North West Green Party Chair added: "This decision is a disaster for all those who care about Britain’s role in combating catastrophic climate change.  I expect no better of the Tories but it is particularly disappointing to see so many North West Labour MPs betraying future generations in this way.  We need serious infrastructure investment in Britain - but that must be low-carbon, clean transport systems for the future and for the whole country - not a mega airport in West London.”


North West MPs who voted in favour of Heathrow expansion


Luciana Berger (Liverpool, Wavertree)
Ann Coffey (Stockport)
Rosie Cooper (West Lancashire)
David Crausby (Bolton North East)
Maria Eagle (Garston and Halewood)
Angela Eagle (Wallasey)
Louise Ellman (Liverpool, Riverside)
Bill Esterson (Sefton Central)
Yvonne Fovargue (Makerfield)
Kate Green (Stretford and Urmston
George Howarth (Knowsley)
Graham Jones (Hyndburn)
Mike Kane (Wythenshawe and Sale East)
Afzal Khan (Manchester, Gorton)
Justin Madders (Ellesmere Port and Neston)
Christian Matheson (City of Chester)
Conor McGinn (St Helens North)
Alison McGovern (Wirral South)
Liz McInnes (Heywood and Middleton)
Jim McMahon (Oldham West and Royton)
Jo Platt (Leigh)
Lucy Powell (Manchester Central)
Faisal Rashid (Warrington South)
Angela Rayner (Ashton-under-Lyne)
Jonathan Reynolds (Stalybridge and Hyde)
Jeff Smith (Manchester, Withington)
Laura Smith (Crewe and Nantwich)
Graham Stringer (Blackley and Broughton)


Jake Berry (Rossendale and Darwen)
Graham Brady (Altrincham and Sale West)
Fiona Bruce (Congleton)
Nigel Evans (Ribble Valley)
Chris Green (Bolton West)
Trudy Harrison (Copeland)
Seema Kennedy (South Ribble)
Esther McVey (Tatton)
Damien Moore (Southport)
David Morris (Morecambe and Lunesdale)
Mary Robinson (Cheadle)
David Rutley (Macclesfield)
Antoinette Sandbach (Eddisbury)
John Stevenson (Carlisle)
Rory Stewart (Penrith and The Border)
Ben Wallace (Wyre and Preston North)
William Wragg (Hazel Grove)

In addition, three NW Labour MPs (and Shadow Cabinet members) did not vote:
Andrew Gwynne (Denton & Reddish)
Rebecca Long-Bailey (Salford & Eccles)
Cat Smith (Lancaster & Fleetwood)

RSS Feed North West Green Party RSS Feed

Back to main page

Euro Election Candidates

The Green Party candidates for the North West region in the Euro Elections of 23 May were:

Gina Dowding. Lancashire County Councillor. Elected.
Wendy Olsen. Salford.
Jessica Northey. St Helens.
Geraldine Coggins. Trafford Borough Councillor.
Rosie Mills. Lancaster.
Astrid Johnson. Manchester.
Dan Jerrome. Trafford Borough Councillor.
James Booth. Macclesfield.

Click here for more details.