Green Party Leaders Visit Lancashire Fracking Site

19 September 2017

The Green Party’s co-leaders, Caroline Lucas and Jonathan Bartley joined well over 100 protesters outside  Cuadrilla’s fracking site on Preston New Road in Lancashire yesterday.  Protesters included many Green Party active members from the region.    

The visit followed the arrests of Tina Rothery, Green Party life member and ‘anti-fracking nana’, at the fracking site on September 2 and three other Green Party members who locked themselves together outside the site’s entrance on August 30.

Caroline Lucas said:

"I'm joining the protests on Monday because it's abundantly clear that fracking is a dirty, destructive industry that will wreck the UK's climate ambitions and leave us dependent on fossil fuels for years to come. We know that the price of renewables is dropping fast, and it's high time that the Government stop their reckless dash for gas and focus on making Britain into a world leader in modern, clean energy from the sun, wind and sea."

Jonathan Bartley said:

"It’s an honour to join activists on the front line of the fight against fracking on Monday. Fracking is dirty, dangerous and expensive. It contaminates local air, water and soil and the community in Lancashire said they didn’t want it. Instead of overriding their wishes and destroying our climate commitments in the process by drilling for gas we should be investing in renewable energy for the future."

The protests are one of a series of 'Green Mondays' at the site which are planned to continue into October. 

In the evening Caroline Lucas also addressed a packed public meeting in Lancaster Town Hall. 

RSS Feed North West Green Party RSS Feed

Back to main page

Euro Election Candidates

The Green Party candidates for the North West region in the Euro Elections of 23 May were:

Gina Dowding. Lancashire County Councillor. Elected.
Wendy Olsen. Salford.
Jessica Northey. St Helens.
Geraldine Coggins. Trafford Borough Councillor.
Rosie Mills. Lancaster.
Astrid Johnson. Manchester.
Dan Jerrome. Trafford Borough Councillor.
James Booth. Macclesfield.

Click here for more details.