Green Party Primary Authority Councillors

After local elections of 4 May 2023, there are 82 Green Party councillors elected to Metropolitan Borough, County or District Councils in the North West. These are listed below.  There are also numerous parish / town councillors across the region. 

Cheshire West & Chester
Chris CopemanCllr Chris Copeman - Helsby ward
John RoachCllr John Roach - Whitby Park ward
Cumberland Council
Helen Davison FilmoreCllr Helen Davison - Belah ward
Jill PerryCllr Jill Perry - Bothel & Wharrels ward
Westmorland & Furness Council
Judy FilmoreCllr Judy Filmore - Ulverston ward
Burnley Borough Council
Andy WightCllr Andy Wight - Brunshaw ward
Jack LaunerCllr Jack Launer - Cliviger with Worsthorne ward
Scott CunliffeCllr Scott Cunliffe - Cliviger with Worsthorne ward
Beki HughesCllr Beki Hughes - Cliviger with Worsthorne ward
Alex WardCllr Alex Ward - Trinity ward
Martyn HurtCllr Martyn Hurt - Trinity Ward
Helen BridgesCllr Helen Bridges - Trinity Ward
Hyndburn  Borough Council
Caroline MontagueCllr Caroline Montague - Barnfield ward
Paddy ShortCllr Paddy Short - Peel ward
Lancaster  City Council
Hamish MillsCllr Hamish Mills - Bowerham ward
Sarah PunshonCllr Sarah Punshon - Bowerham ward
Caroline JacksonCllr Caroline Jackson - Bulk ward
Jack LenoxCllr Jack Lenox - Bulk ward
Sam RichesCllr Sam Riches - Bulk ward
Dave BrookesCllr Dave Brookes - Castle Ward
Shelagh McGregorCllr Izzy Metcalf-Reiner - Castle ward
Paul StubbinsCllr Paul Stubbins - Castle ward
Sally MaddocksCllr Sally Maddocks - Ellel ward
Paul TynanCllr Paul Tynan - Ellel ward
Sarah McGowanCllr Sarah McGowan - Halton-with-Aughton & Kellet ward
James SommervilleCllr James Sommerville - Halton-with-Aughton & Kellet ward
Suhir AbuhajarCllr Suhir Abuhajar - John O'Gaunt ward
Grace RussellCllr Grace Russell - John O'Gaunt ward
Mandy BannonCllr Mandy Bannon - Marsh ward
Gina DowdingCllr Gina Dowding - Marsh ward
Nick WilkinsonCllr Nick Wilkinson - Marsh ward
Tim Hamilton-CoxCllr Tim Hamilton-Cox - Scotforth West ward
Abi MillsCllr Abi Mills - Scotforth West ward
Abi MillsCllr Tom Fish - University ward
Abi MillsCllr Sue Tyldesley - Wharton ward
Lancashire County Council
Gina DowdingCounty Cllr Gina Dowding - Lancaster Central
Scott CunliffeCounty Cllr Scott Cunliffe - Burnley Central West
Ribble Valley Borough Council
Astrid JohnsonCllr Gaye McCrum - East Whalley, Read & Simonstone  ward
Martin PeplowCllr Malcolm Peplow - East Whalley, Read & Simonstone  ward
Julie AdsheadCllr Julie Adshead - Whitewell ward
Greater Manchester
Manchester City Council
Ekua BayunuCllr Ekua Bayunu - Hulme ward
Rob NunneyCllr Rob Nunney - Woodhouse Park ward
Astrid JohnsonCllr Astrid Johnson - Woodhouse Park ward
Anastasia WiestCllr Anastasia Wiest - Woodhouse Park ward
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council
James FrizzellCllr James Frizzell - Reddish South ward
Gary LawsonCllr Gary Lawson - Reddish South ward
Liz CrixCllr Liz Crix - Reddish South ward
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council
Dan Jerrome Cllr Dan Jerrome - Altrincham ward
Geraldine CogginsCllr Geraldine Coggins - Altrincham ward
Michael WeltonCllr Michael Welton - Altrincham ward
Jane LeicesterCllr Jane Leicester - Hale ward
Hannah SpencerCllr Hannah Spencer - Hale ward
Owain SuttonCllr Owain Sutton - Hale ward
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council
Joanne BurkeCllr Joanne Burke - Prescot South ward
Kai TaylorCllr Kai Taylor - Prescot South ward
Pat CookCllr Pat Cook - Prescot South ward
Pat CookCllr Päl Woodruff - Roby ward
Cath GoldingCllr Cath Golding - St. Gabriel's ward
Graham GoldingCllr Graham Golding - St. Gabriel's ward
Ron GaffneyCllr Ron Gaffney - Wiston & Cronton ward
Liverpool City Council
Martyn MadeleyCllr Martyn Madeley - Greenbank ward
Tom CroneCllr Tom Crone - St Michaels ward
John HowardCllr John Howard - Sefton Park ward
St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council
David HawleyCllr David Hawley - Bold and Lea Green ward
Allen MakinCllr Allen Makin - Bold and Lea Green ward
Glen RichardsCllr Glen Richards - Bold and Lea Green ward
Paul HootonCllr Paul Hooton - Haydock ward
Janet SheldonCllr Janet Sheldon - Haydock ward
David Van der BurgCllr David Van der Burg - Haydock ward
Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council
Judith GrierCllr Judith Grier - Bebington ward
 Edward Lamb Cllr Edward Lamb - Bebington ward
Jason WalshCllr Jason Walsh - Bebington ward
Pat ClearyCllr Pat Cleary - Birkenhead and Tranmere ward
Amanda OnwuemeneCllr Amanda Onwuemene - Birkenhead and Tranmere ward
Ewan TomenyCllr Ewan Tomeny - Birkenhead and Tranmere ward
Jo BirdCllr Jo Bird - Bromborough ward
Ruth MolyneuxCllr Ruth Molyneux - Bromborough ward
Kieran MurphyCllr Kieran Murphy - Bromborough ward
Gail JenkinsonCllr Gail Jenkinson - Greasby, Frankby & Irby ward
Chris CookeCllr Chris Cooke - Prenton ward
Naomi GrahamCllr Naomi Graham - Prenton ward
Harry GormanCllr Harry Gorman - Prenton ward
Craig McDonaldCllr Craig McDonald - Rock Ferry ward


North West Green Party

The Green Party is the only major political party in the UK that commits to a life based on democracy and justice within the planet's limits.

The Green Party has always dared to be different,  and we’ve always known the power of good ideas. We understand that inequality is not just unfair, but damaging to everyone in society. 

We understand that not everyone wants to live to work. The Green Party has the bold solutions to deal with the problems we face today: recovering from the impact of coronavirus, while tackling the climate and biodiversity crises and creating compassionate communities where everyone can thrive.

Join now

Green Party Programme for Local Government

The Government’s ideological commitment to austerity has seen £50 billion cut from council services since 2010. These cuts - forced through from Westminster - have closed libraries, forced councils to sell public land and laid off the council staff that collect litter, repair roads and care for older people. The cross party Local Government Association estimates that councils face a further shortfall of £8 billion by 2025 with the most basic of services being eroded, decimating our communities.

A vote for the Green Party in May is a vote against such outdated, disastrously imposed establishment thinking. It is a vote for a new, fresh approach.

The Green Party is committed to campaigning to restore the £50 billion of public money taken from councils – having Greens elected to councils will send a strong message to Westminster that people have had enough of losing cherished local services.

At a local level, having Greens on your council means having champions for investment in local services, fighting to improve public spaces, increase access to social housing and to provide more walking, cycling and public transport opportunities.

It means having councillors looking beyond the tired stock answers and convention-sapped ambitions of the establishment parties. Green councillors embrace the new and relish the bold; harnessing resident’s skills and trusting local knowledge to solve local challenges, from declining high streets to under resourced public transport.

Unlike councillors from the establishment parties, Greens are not subject to a Party whip that orders them to vote according to the needs of the party machines and their colleagues in Westminster. This means they are free to put the residents they represent front and centre, and to fight without fear of favour for their interests - and the radical solutions that will make their lives better.

Latest on Twitter